Blackboard Collaborate Ultra: Key Words and How To

This is a general list of key words relating to the use of Blackboard Collaborate Ultra (our content sharing platform for vIMC) and their meanings which may help you to navigate vIMC more successfully.

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra (also; Blackboard Learn) is a virtual learning environment that allows people to share content using video and audio. We will be using this software to deliver all digital sessions forĀ  vIMC. No download is necessary, but please see our technical support page for more information.

Checking Audio & Video

Prior to the vIMC, you may wish to check that your device has a working camera / webcam, and microphone. As you enter each Blackboard virtual session room, you will be prompted to test your computer’s audio and visual capacities. This can be done easily by following the instructions and prompts given by Blackboard.

Camera & Microphone

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra requires that you check your microphone and camera are working before you go into the digital session room. It should automatically detect your connected camera and microphone. Those using laptops, phones, Mac PCs, and tablets (including iPads) are likely to have a camera / webcam and microphone built into their device, however those with desktop computers may need to connect an external camera or microphone. The check will allow you to check your audio and video work so that you can be seen and heard in the Q&A portion of the talk. During the presentation you should have your microphone muted to allow speakers to talk uninterrupted. Moderators will mute all microphones but the speakers’ once the session begins. You can turn your camera and microphone off and on using the controls in the middle at the bottom of the screen.

Raise Your Hand Function

Blackboard is equipped with a “Raise Your Hand” function which allows users to indicate that they wish to ask a question. While the papers are being delivered, moderators may choose to turn this function off. However, it will be active during the discussion period. Blackboard provides support on how to use this function.

Chat Function

Blackboard is equipped with a “Chat” function which allows users to communicate with other delegates in their virtual session. During the papers, moderators may turn this function off. However, it will be active during the discussion period. Delegates may use it to communicate with fellow delegates, or to send a question directly to the moderator. Please be aware that, while it is possible to send private messages to individual delegates, moderators will be able to see the contents of all messages sent. Blackboard provides support on how to use this function.

Screen Share Function

Screen share, also known as desktop sharing, is the practice of sharing a video (screencapture) of the contents of your own computer screen with your audience. When delivering a paper at the vIMC, you will need to share your screen with other delegates if you should wish to show a PowerPoint presentation, or a visual or media file. If you are unsure how to use the screen share function, visit the Blackboard help and support information.

File Share Function

The Blackboard File Share function allows you to share a file with your speakers and talk them through the contents. We do not recommend using this functionality during your presentation as there is considerable lag between what you see as the speaker and what your audience may see.